DUI/DWI Attorney Bergen County, NJ

DUI/DWI Lawyer Bergen County, NJ

Have you been arrested and charged with drunk driving in Bergen County, NJ? Facing the criminal justice system can seem daunting, but Bergen County DUI attorney Steven Ellman is standing by to protect your rights and future. 

Steven Ellman has spent three-plus decades advocating for clients facing DWI/DUI charges in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey, becoming one of the state’s premier DWI defense attorneys in the process. Let him put the skills and acumen he’s developed to work on your behalf.

Contact The Law Office of Steven Ellman for a free initial case evaluation. You’ll discuss your legal options with a Bergen County DUI lawyer who’s serious about your defense.

Understanding DUI/DWI Charges in Bergen County, NJ

Under New Jersey’s DUI/DWI statute, a person may not operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or a narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit-producing drug. A motorist commits DWI when they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more or a detectable amount of drugs in their system, regardless of the alcohol’s effects on their ability to drive safely. However, a commercial vehicle driver commits DWI when they have a BAC of 0.04 percent or more. Furthermore, New Jersey takes a “zero tolerance” approach to underage drinking, making it illegal for a driver under 21 to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.

Penalties for drunk driving may depend on the amount of alcohol in a driver’s system and whether the driver has prior DWI convictions. Penalties for a first DWI conviction include:

  • BAC of 0.08 Percent or Higher but Less Than 0.10 Percent – A fine of $250 to $400, up to 30 days in jail, forfeiture of driver’s license until ignition interlock installed in one’s vehicle, three months of ignition interlock requirement, two days of six-hour classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an annual insurance charge of $1,000 for three years
  • BAC of 0.10 Percent or Higher but Less Than 0.15 Percent: A fine of $300 to $500, up to 30 days in jail, forfeiture of driver’s license until ignition interlock installed in one’s vehicle, seven to 12 months of ignition interlock requirement, two days of six-hour classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an annual insurance charge of $1,000 for three years
  • BAC of 0.15 Percent or Higher – A fine of $300 to $500, up to 30 days in jail, forfeiture of driver’s license for four to six months, ignition interlock requirement during license suspension and for nine to 15 months after license restoration, two days of six-hour classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an annual insurance charge of $1,000 for three years

Penalties for a second DWI conviction include:

  • A fine of $500 to $1,000
  • 48 consecutive hours to 90 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension of one to two years
  • 30 days of community service
  • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock during license suspension and for two to four years following license restoration

Penalties for a third or subsequent DWI conviction include:

  • A fine of $1,000
  • 180 days in jail, up to 90 days of which a person may serve in an inpatient rehabilitation facility approved by the IDRC
  • Eight-year driver’s license suspension
  • 30 days of community service
  • Annual insurance surcharge of $1,500 for three years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock during license suspension and for two to four years following license restoration

Penalties for DWI convictions may increase for offenses involving aggravating conditions, such as driving through a school zone.

How a Bergen County DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

If you’ve been accused of DWI/DUI in Bergen County, experienced legal assistance can help you seek a favorable resolution to your charges, protecting your rights, freedom, and future from the worst consequences of a conviction. Steven Ellman can assist you by thoroughly investigating your case to recover all available evidence and identify potential defense strategies, such as contesting the validity of the traffic stop or challenging the reliability of test results.

An attorney can advocate in court, testing the prosecution’s case against you and moving to exclude evidence or dismiss your charges. If your charges go to trial, a Bergen County DUI lawyer can vigorously advocate in your defense to demonstrate reasonable doubt and fight for an acquittal.

Our Client-Centered Approach to DUI Cases

Steven Ellman combines dedicated legal representation with personalized service and attention. At The Law Office of Steven Ellman, you can expect respect, compassion, and transparency from the moment you walk through the door. 

Bergen County DWI lawyer Steven Ellman will stand by your side at each step of your case, so you never need to worry about getting passed to an inexperienced associate or paralegal. He believes that every client deserves the best possible outcome in their cases. 

As a longtime Bergen County DUI attorney, Steven Ellman knows the possibility of a conviction and subsequent penalties can make you feel anxiety and stress. This is why he will work hard to help you overcome your legal challenges and put your life back on track.

Why Choose Steven Ellman for Your DUI/DWI Case?

You deserve a defense attorney with extensive knowledge and familiarity with DWI/DUI cases in New Jersey. Choose The Law Office of Steven Ellman for your case. Steven Ellman focuses on DUI/DWI and traffic violation cases and has spent over three decades defending more than a thousand clients from drunk/drugged driving charges. He has a proven track record, getting over 80 percent of the DWI and traffic cases he has handled dismissed.

Contact The Law Office of Steven Ellman

After you’ve been arrested and charged with DWI/DUI in Bergen County, you need experienced legal representation to protect your rights, reputation, and future. Steven Ellman will take the time to review the facts of your case, listen to your story, and answer your questions. You’ll get the sound advice and information you need to begin making decisions for your best interests.

Contact The Law Office of Steven Ellman today for a free, confidential consultation. You’ll learn how a Bergen County DUI attorney can help you pursue a favorable resolution to your DWI charges.